Minnesota DWI Lawyer
Plate impoundment, or whiskey plates, is one of the penalties that can result from DWI. Many Minnesotans are not aware that the state has the authority to take the license plate from their vehicle if they are charged with drunk driving. This is a penalty that can lead to a great amount of difficulty for the vehicle owner, as well as embarrassment. When the license plates are surrendered, the ability to drive is hindered until a temporary certificate is issued.
If you have been charged with DWI and you have to surrender your license plates, it is very important to speak with a Golden Valley DWI lawyer as soon as possible. You can fight the DWI charge and the penalties that go with it so that you can return to a normal life as soon as possible. Even if the charges cannot be dismissed or you acquitted, it is possible to achieve a much better outcome in the case when compared to the maximum penalties.
Helping You Understand Plate Impoundment
Plate impoundment can occur when an individual has been convicted of drunk driving two or more times in a ten year period or there have been two or more license revocations in the same period that are alcohol-related. If a person has a blood alcohol concentration of .16 or above, their plates can be impounded. The third reason is operating a motor vehicle without a valid driver’s license.
The arresting officer will issue an order on behalf of the Commissioner of Public Safety for the plates to be surrendered. However, the officer will issue a permit that allows for the vehicle to be temporarily licensed for just seven days. If the driver is not the vehicle owner, that period is increased to 45 days.
If the driver owns multiple vehicles, the impoundment order applies to all of them. Even if someone else in the household drives the other vehicles, they are affected. After this, the driver can then apply for a limited driver’s license and receive temporary plates, known as whiskey plates, to place on their vehicle. The plates have a special number on them that law enforcement can identify, but law enforcement is not to pull a person over just for having these plates.
Fighting DWI Charges & Plate Impoundment
The plate impoundment can create a hardship, but the impoundment order is not something that a person has to stand by and take. A driver does have the right to ask for a judicial review of the plate impoundment, but there is only 30 days to do this. Your Hennepin County DWI lawyer will help you with your request so that you can challenge the plate impoundment, if requesting a review is something that could prove positive for you. Your attorney will guide you through the process, ensure that every step is carried out correctly, and will aggressively pursue the matter on your behalf.
Contact A Minneapolis DWI Attorney
Whiskey plates, also known as plate impoundment, are two of the penalties associated with some DWI crimes. These are penalties that can create a great deal of inconvenience for more than just the driver. If you have been charged with DWI and your plates have been impounded, you may be able to fight the plate impoundment in addition to the DWI. To learn more about your rights and options, call the Law Office of barry Hogen at 612-338-5545 to request a free consultation.